ABOUT ME

I live on the Main Street in Methven with my husband and our 2 primary-school aged children. We have lived in Methven for 5 years and both our children attend Methven Primary School. I am a member of the Methven Parks Committee as well as being a part of a small group of Mums from the Primary School who try to get together and socialise a few times a year. 

I have previous experience working with and caring for children. I hold a degree in BA Child and Youth Studies and have past experience volunteering in schools and youth groups.  

I chose childminding after a lot of pondering and wondering what to do with my degree and where I wanted to be once both my children were at school. Childminding allows me the opportunity to use my passion for working with kids, watching them develop and making a difference in their early years but to also be around for my own children and not miss out on their childhood. I have now been childminding for 1 year and I have loved every minute of it! 

I have attended/completed various training courses now - details are below! 

I live in a 3 bedroom house with a large back garden. We have recently carried outa huge refurb in the back garden which is now a dedicated play space with a large climbing frame for 3-14 year olds, toddler appropriate slide and swing, a trampoline, play house and lots more - perfect for loads of outdoor play - in all weathers! Right behind the house is a large field which often sees a variety of wildlife passing through and is great for learning all about farming and watching the crops grow and then be harvested. We are also very lucky in Methven to have the Den and King George V Park nearby so there's plenty to do to get outside in all weathers. 

Methven Primary School is approximately 2-3 minutes away by foot with no roads to cross so nursery and school drop off and pick up is a simple and safe option when your child attends my setting. If there are activities or events at the nursery/school your child is involved in and you can't attend - I am happy to try and get along to these to support your child - depending on other minded children and commitments. 

At home we have a wide range of books and toys available for all ages, I have facilities available for napping and younger babies as well as entertainment for older children including a playstation, iPads (with necessary parental controls and restrictions), games, arts and crafts materials, etc. 

I love to bake and this is something I will try to do regularly with children as well as getting them involved around the house and doing jobs such as tidying up their toys, putting their dishes in the dishwasher, etc. 

Qualifications and Training

Completed:

2009 - Certificate of Higher Education in Primary Education

07/15 - BA Child and Youth Studies Degree

03/19 - SCMA Childminding Induction Programme 

03/19 - PKC Introduction Becoming a Childminder

05/19 - PKC Pre-registration Training Course

05/19 - PKC Child Protection Basic Awareness

06/19 - Heartstart Discovery - Emergency Life Support Course

06/19 - Food Hygiene Level 2

08/19 - PKC Infection Control

06/20 - SCMA Tears, Tantrums and You

Pending:

© 2019 Methven Munchkins